Candidate Slate for the 2024 Election

Published 06/14/2024
Share this on:

2025 Election Slate graphicLOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 14 June 2024 – The IEEE Computer Society (IEEE CS) Board of Governors has approved the slate of candidates for the IEEE CS 2024 election:

Voting for IEEE CS president-elect, first vice president, and Board of Governors members will begin on Monday, 12 August, and end on Monday, 16 September 2024 at 12:00 PM EDT USA/16:00 UTC.

All members will receive a broadcast email message with voting instructions to access their web ballot package information. Members in all regions can vote online at the IEEE CS election site. For replacement ballots or to request a paper ballot, call +1-732-562-3904 or email

Only IEEE CS members without an email address in their member record, or those who have opted out of IEEE email communications, will receive a paper ballot package. Those who receive paper ballots should return them by mail using the business reply envelope provided, or to IEEE Technical Activities, Attn: SGA, 445 Hoes Lane, PO Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331, USA.

Officers are elected to one-year terms and Board members to three-year terms, each beginning 1 January 2025. Candidate bios and position statements will be published in the August issue of Computer magazine, which is distributed to all IEEE CS members.

The Nominations Committee’s recommended nominees for 2025 officers and the 2025-2027 Board of Governors are as follows (in alphabetical order):

2025 President-Elect (2026 President)

  • Charles (Chuck) Hansen
  • Grace A. Lewis

2025 Vice President

  • Nils Aschenbruck
  • Terry Benzel

2025-2027 Terms on the Board of Governors

(Members may vote for up to six Board of Governors candidates)

  • Fernando Bouche
  • Umit Catalyurek
  • Alvin Chin
  • Sven Dickinson
  • Saptarshi Ghosh
  • Alfredo Goldman
  • Jimmy Huang
  • Daniel S. Katz
  • Yuhong Liu
  • Cyril Onwubiko
  • Andrejs Romanovs
  • Ladan Tahvildari
  • Damla Turgut
  • Shui Yu

For each elective office of the Computer Society, individual voting members eligible to vote in the election may nominate candidates by written petition provided such nominations are made at least 28 days before the first published day of the 2024 election. The number of signatures required on a member petition is determined in accordance with IEEE Bylaws. Any member who wishes to seek elected office via member petition should contact for more information.

The Board of Governors is responsible for providing policy-level guidance to all organizational entities within the Computer Society. Members may vote for up to six for the Board of Governors position.

All professional and graduate student IEEE CS members on record as of 12 June 2024 are eligible to vote in this year’s IEEE CS election (undergraduate student members do not hold voting rights). Ballots must be returned no later than 12:00 p.m. EDT USA/16:00 UTC on Monday, 16 September 2024. Results will be announced in Computer magazine’s December issue and online.