B. Ramakrishna Rau Award
Established in memory of B. Ramakrishna Rau, and awarded in recognition of his distinguished career in promoting and expanding the use of innovative computer microarchitecture techniques, including his innovation in compiler technology, his leadership in academic and industrial computer architecture, and his extremely high personal and ethical standards.

Nomination Deadline:

Deadline: 16 June 2023 - 11:59PM EDT

The award nomination requires a minimum of 3 endorsements by the award deadline.

Nomination Questions (pdf)  |  Download Call for Nominations_2022 (pdf)  |  Press Release 

Extended Deadline: 16 June 2023 – 11:59 pm EDT (USA)

The B. Ramakrishna Rau award will be presented “in recognition of substantial contributions in the field of computer microarchitecture and compiler code generation.”

The candidate will have made an outstanding, innovative contribution or contributions to microarchitecture, use of novel microarchitectural techniques or compiler/architecture interfacing. It is hoped, but not required, that the winner will have also contributed to the computer microarchitecture community through teaching, mentoring, or community service. This award will consist of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium.

The winner will be announced and invited to present a paper and/or presentation at the ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Microarchitecture.  The Rau award will be presented annually and honored to a single recipient.


2023 B. Ramakrishna Rau Award Committee Chair

Daniel A. Jiménez, Texas A&M University


Past Recipients