Discover IEEE Computer Society Standards Activities

Learn more about the Standards Activities Board, Standards Committees, and more.

About Standards

The Computer Society is home to 217+ active technical standards. The Computer Society recognizes that standards fuel the development and implementation of technologies that influence and transform the way we live, work, and communicate.

The Computer Society strongly supports the development of new technical standards to reflect the continuous creation of new practices and technologies. Seventeen Computer Society standards committees and their working groups are currently developing almost 200 new standards.


CS Standards Committees

Get Involved with Existing Standards

Through our standards committees, individuals and companies can play a leading role in the development of standards that impact our industry. We encourage you to get involved with existing standards. Check out calls for participation. Or contact a standards committee chair to learn more about how to join or start a working group in an area of interest.



How to Start a New Standards Committee or Working Group

The Computer Society encourages creation of new committees or working groups when there is a need for an idea or concept to be standardized. Each Computer Society Standards Committee assumes responsibility for a particular standards idea within its technical scope and manages standards development and revision efforts. Contact the chair of a standards committee of interest to start work in a specific technical area.

The SAB Standards Committee manages standards development projects that are under the purview of the Computer Society and for which no existing standards committee is appropriate (e.g. for new lines of work or for standards for which a viable standards committee has not been identified). The SAB Standards Committee Chair can provide more information about how to initiate new projects.

IEEE SA Guidance about Standards Development provides more details about the steps in the standards development process.



Standards Activities Board Webinar Series

A FREE webinar series highlighting the IEEE Computer Society’s 217+ active standards that have transformed daily life around the world. View Series


Standards Activities Board

The mission of the IEEE Computer Society Standards Activities Board (SAB) is to encourage Computer Society members to participate in standardization activities, to promote the use of IEEE standards, and to develop useful products that leverage IEEE standards within the scope of the Computer Society. SAB also fosters industry participation and engagement. SAB policies and procedures provide additional information about SAB responsibilities and structure.


2023 Standards Activities Board Members



SAB Chair
Annette Reilly, Lockheed Martin (retired)
VP of Standards Activities Board



  • SAB Vice Chair: Edward Au, Huawei Canada
  • SAB Secretary: Lynn Robert Carter
  • President, ex officio member: Nita Patel, Otis*
  • Computer Society Executive Director, ex officio member: Melissa Russell*

Standing Committee Chairs

  • Policies & Procedures: Joseph Levy
  • Industry Engagement Chair: Ming Li
  • Vitality Committee: Debbie Brown

Standards Activities Board Standards Committee

  • Edward Au, Huawei Canada, Chair
  • Dennis Brophy, Siemens EDA*
  • Wei Hong, Xiaomi*, Secretary and Treasurer
  • Michael Montemurro, Huawei*
  • Jon Rosdahl, Qualcomm, Vice Chair*
  • Annette Reilly, Self, Ex-officio
  • Robby Robson, Eduworks Corp, Ex-officio*

Standards Committee Chairs

  • Artificial Intelligence (AISC): Richard Tong, Squirrel AI Learning
  • Blockchain and Distributed Ledgers: Ming Li, China Electronics Standardization Institute (CESI)
  • Cloud Computing: Steve Diamond
  • Cybersecurity & Privacy: Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.
  • Data Compression: Feng Wu, University of Science and Technology, China
  • Design Automation: Dennis Brophy, Siemens EDA
  • Functional Safety Standards Committee (FSSC): Riccardo Mariani, NVDIA
  • Knowledge Engineering Standards Committee (KESC): Ruiqi Li, China Electronics Standardization Institute
  • Learning Technology:  Jim Goodell from Quality Information Partners (QIP)
  • Local Area Networks/Metropolitan Area Networks (LAN/MAN IEEE 802): Paul Nikolich, self-affiliated
  • Microprocessor (MSC): Ralph Baker Kearfoot, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Online Gaming (OGSC): Alicia Nie, Tencent
  • Portable Applications POSIX (PASC): Joseph Gwinn, Raytheon
  • Standards Activities Board Standards Committee: Edward Au, Huawei Canada
  • Simulation Interoperability (SISO/SAC): Grant Bailey
  • Smart Manufacturing: Sha Wei, China Electronics Standardization Institute (CESI)
  • Software & Systems Engineering (S2ESC): Edward Addy, Northrup Grumman
  • Test Technology (TTSC): Ian McIntosh, Leonardo

Representatives to External Organizations

  • ISO/IEC JTC1 SC7 Software & Systems Engineering: Annette Reilly, Lockheed Martin (retired)*
  • ISO/IEC/JTC 1/SC27 Computing Security: Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.*
  • ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC38: Eric Hibbard, Samsung Semiconductor Inc.*
  • ISO/IEC JWG16.AG18: Annette Reilly, Lockheed Martin (retired)*
  • ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC42: Richard Tong, Squirrel AI Learning*

Liaisons to IEEE Committees

  • Robby Robson, Liaison to IEEE TAB Committee on Standards(CoS)*
  • Joseph Levy, InterDigital, Representative to the Registration Authority Committee (RAC)

IEEE and CS Staff Support

  • IEEE Computer Society Staff Support: Brian Kirk*
  • IEEE Computer Society Staff Support: Anne Marie Kelly*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Christy Bahn*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Matt Ceglia*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Jonathan Goldberg*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Jodi Haasz*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Ron Hotchkiss*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Soo Kim*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Michael Kipness*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Vanessa Lalitte*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Christian Orlando*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Pat Roder*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Jennifer Santulli*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Tom Thompson*
  • IEEE Staff Support: Meng Zhao*

* Non-voting member

Inside the Computer Society