Harold S. Stone

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Harold S. Stone (M’63–SM’86–F’87) received a Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1963 from the University of California at Berkeley. He is currently conducting research in image processing at NEC Research Institute, Princeton, NJ where he holds the position of NEC Fellow. Formerly he was engaged in research in computer architecture at IBM Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, NY. He has been a faculty member at the University of Massachusetts and Stanford University and has held visiting faculty appointments at institutions throughout the world.

Dr. Stone is the author, coauthor, or editor of seven textbooks, and has produced over sixty technical publications. The series he has produced as a consulting editor to Addison-Wesley, McGraw-Hill, and University Microfilms contain more than eighty titles in all areas of computer science and engineering.

He has been active in the IEEE Computer Society and Communications Society as well as the ACM. For the ACM he has served as Associate Editor of the JACM, and for the IEEE Computer Society he has chaired a Technical
Committee, and served as Technical Editor of Computer, Governing Board Member, Associate Editor of the Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems, and Vice President for Publications. He has also founded and served as the first Chair of the Technical Committee on Interconnections within Digital Systems for the IEEE Communications Society. For the IEEE, he has been active in Awards activities, and has served as Chair of IEEE TAB Awards and Recognition Committee. He received the Charles Babbage Award in 1991 and the IEEE
Emanuel Piore Award in 1992 for contributions to parallel computation and education. He was elected Fellow of the ACM in 1993 for contributions to parallel computation and to the profession.


1999 Taylor L. Booth Award
“For outstanding contributions in advancing computer science and engineering education through your research, teaching and most important through innovative writing of seminal textbooks that established computer architecture on a firm foundation.”
Learn more about the Taylor L. Booth Award