James T. Cain

Award Recipient
Share this on:

James T. (Tom) Cain is a professor of electrical engineering and computer engineering. He was a visiting professor at the University of Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe, Germany from May to August of 1998 and 1999. He received the B.S.E.E., M.S.E.E. and the PhD degrees from the University of Pittsburgh in 1964, 1966 and 1970. His current research interests are in the areas of RFID and Systems-on-a-Chip with emphasis on embedded systems and systems containing MEMS.

He has also had the following industrial experience: General Electric Company: Distribution Equipment Division, Consultant (September 1982–November 1982); Westinghouse Electric Corporation: Savannah River Company, Consultant (October 1996–Present); Water Reactor Divisions, Consultant (June 1978–May 1983); Pressurized Water Reactor Systems Division, Full Time Consultant (September 1974–August 1975); Part Time Consultant September 1975 March 1976; Computer and Instrumentation Division, Consultant (May 1972–September 1973); Headquarters Manufacturing Laboratory Consultant (November–December 1971); Computer Systems Division (Full Time June 1966–August 1966 and May 1967–August 1967, Consultant September 1966–April 1967); Bell Telephone Laboratories: Electronic Switching Systems Division, Member Technical Staff (April 1965–September 1965); Bell Telephone Company of Pennsylvania: Western Area Headquarters Engineering, Engineer (April 1963–August 1963).

Representative professional service includes service with: the IEEE Fellows Committee (Member, 2005–2007; Vice Chair, 2007); Awards Board Medals Council (Vice Chair, 2003–2005); Awards Policy and Procedures Committee (Member, 2003–2007); Committee on Global Accreditation Activities (Chairman, 2002); Awards Board (Vice Chair, 2002; Member-at-Large 2000–2001); Joint National Society Awards Task Force (Chair, 1999–2003); Nomination and Appointments Committee (Member, 1996–1997; Chair, 1997); Past President (1996); President (1995); President-elect (1994); IEEE Computer Society, Fellow Evaluation Committee (Chair, 2004; Vice-chair, 2003); Conferences and Tutorial Board (Member, 1999–2006; Vice-Chair 2006, 2007); Awards Committee (Vice Chair, 2002; Member, 2002–2005); Taylor Booth Award Selection Committee (Chair, 2003–2005); Latin America Activities Committee (Member, 2003–2007); Computer Editorial Board (Member, 1996–2007); IEEE Foundation (Treasurer, 1997); Board of Directors (1994–1999); American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) (Board of Directors, 1995); Computing Sciences Accreditation Board (CSAB) (President, 1988–1989; Vice President; 1986–1987,;Board of Directors, 1984–1991); Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) (Alternate Representative Director, ABET Board of Directors, 1988); Program Evaluator for Computer Science and Engineering and Electrical Engineering (1983–1989); American Association of Engineering Societies (AAES) (Member, Board of Directors, 1995); ICACIT, Instituto de Calidad en Acreditación de las Carreras de Ingeniería y Tecnología, Peru (Member, Board of Directors, 2001–present).

Representative awards include: IEEE Educational Activities Board Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities for “Outstanding Contributions to Computer Engineering Accreditation,” 1992; IEEE Fellow for “Leadership in and Contributions to Computer Science and Engineering Education,” 1993; Distinguished Alumnus Award, Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Pittsburgh, 1994; Golden Key National Honor Society, Honorary Member, 1994; IEEE Millennium Medal for “Continuous and Outstanding Service to the Profession,” 2000; CSAB Fellow for “Leadership in Computer Science Accreditation,” 2004.

His past research has been supported by the National Science Foundation, Allegheny Power Service Corporation, Hewlett-Packard, Electric Power Research Institute, Westinghouse Educational Foundation, General Electric Company, Data General Corporation, Westinghouse Electric Corporation, U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, Pittsburgh Digital Greenhouse, Syracuse Research Corporation, Praesidium Technologies, NASA, Gnostic Communications, Ben Franklin Development Authority, FireFly Power Technologies, Matthews Marking Products, ADCUS Inc., Mascaro Sustainability Institute, Supply Systems Inc., Technology Collaborative, Union Switch and Signal, Tego, Inc.


1988 Taylor L. Booth Education Award
“Outstanding contributions to Computer Science & Engineering education.”
Learn more about the Taylor L. Booth Education Award

1995 Richard E. Merwin Award
“For outstanding sustained contributions and leadership in education and the computer profession.”
Learn more about the Richard E. Merwin Award